Reflection

Stimtastic Aspergers

When I find myself in the precarious social situation, and when I’m being engaged conversationally, I try to handle the interaction like a chameleon. I camouflage my social awkwardness in the mannerisms, body language, and subjects of discussion of those around me. I plagiarize other peoples’ reciprocity, kind of like mirror syndrome, except I am aware of what I’m doing. However, this can be exhausting, and I noticed the higher my social interaction, the lower my sensory threshold. It takes so much energy for me just to talk with someone, that it depletes my stamina, and I become more vulnerable to stimuli. Fortunately I have someone in my life that recognizes the signs of my fracturing resolve, and doesn’t mind when I start nudging him toward the door.

View original post

Leave a Reply

